Bats in the Belfry

Is it me, or does fandom have a serious anti-kid bias?  I ran across someone bitching about Bruce Wayne on Gotham.  He’s a kid who makes decisions, which tends to make a certain kind of person a bit squirrelly.  Their responses remind me a bit of men back when women were supposed to be dumb and obedient.  The notion of one who wasn’t just offended them.  Therefore the representation of a child who is somehow older than his years is offensive to a certain type of fan.

Personally I’m finding it an interesting departure from our standard “Batman” mythos.  It’s interesting to see Bruce’s education, and it’s clear that this Alfred has a bare-knuckle side to him.  It actually explains a few things about Bruce’s upbringing that didn’t make sense.  But the fact that he’s being PRIMED to become the man he will be by the things we’re seeing in the show is intriguing to me.

I’ve seen it before.  A lot of fans don’t like seeing representations of children that are overly mature.  Maybe it’s because the notion of a child half their age being more emotionally mature than they are at 20 is just plain unsettling.

Yeah, I know.  I’m tweaking their noses.  On purpose.  Why?  Because it annoys me.  I’m tired of listening to people gripe about everything.  If you’re looking for perfection, you’re in the WRONG goddamn universe.  And if you expect YOUR particular perspective to be treated as being more important than anyone else’s, you’ve got an over-inflated notion of your own importance.

People bitch about the stupidest things.  Some jackass was whining that Benedict Cumberbatch has been officially named as Doctor Strange.  Seriously?  What the FUCK is wrong with that choice?  He included a hashtab.  “Notmysorcerersupreme.”

For fuck’s sake, dude, get the fuck over yourself.

I’ve said it before and I’ll say it again.  One of the reasons we can’t have a decent Wonder Woman is because the fanboys won’t let anyone update her wardrobe, much less anything else.  You DO understand that one of the great things about all of this is that there are so many different possible interpretations, just as there’s been in the comic books.  Calm the fuck down.

Seeing the woman they’d chosen to play WW the last time playing Mockingbird on Agents of Shield tells me what I need to know.  She could have pull it off.  She’s a handsome woman rather than being simply pretty.  WW doesn’t have to be classically beautiful.  In fact, it might be a good thing if she weren’t.  She should be an icon for all the girls, not just the pretty ones.

