I’ve had all I can stands I can’t stands no more.

 

 

This was the battle cry of the cartoon character, Popeye, when he’d had just about enough of Bluto’s shit.  When the bully had pretty much landed on his last nerve and started to tap-dance.

Image

 

Popeye would get pissed, pop his spinach can (sometimes he had to scramble around to get his hands on it again) and, in a terribly display of dining etiquette, proceeds to swallow the whole can.  Theme music goes off and suddenly the little guy has enough umph to pound that big ol’ bully into a smear on the pavement.

Hell of a sales pitch for spinach, back in the day.

Whether or not we’re personally thrilled about the ACA (that’s Obamacare, for those who weren’t paying attention) it doesn’t change the basic fact that this method for getting rid of it, or stalling it, or whatever their fucking plan is supposed to be, is utterly insane.  Congress doesn’t get a second crack at a law it’s already passed.  That’s what additional legislation is for.  They don’t get to use our current budget battle to force changes in a completely unconnected law.  That’s not the way this works.

The American people aren’t happy about this, and they’re growing less thrilled about it by the minute.  The price we’re paying as a nation, as a society, and as individuals, might well be incalculable.  The people who say we can “get by just fine without government” are screaming about keeping MEMORIALS open while kids with cancer are forced to forgo potentially life-saving treatment.

Posturing pricks.

 

Yeah.  I’ve had all I can stands and I can’t stands no more.  Who’s with me?

2 thoughts on “I’ve had all I can stands I can’t stands no more.

  1. You tell ’em, Saje!!!

  2. “I’m mad as hell, and I am not going to take this anymore!” – Howard Beale (“Network” – 1976)

Comments are closed.