Dear Facebook

You allow people to spread lies about our President, advocate dog-fighting, smear gay people by comparing them to pedophiles, post overtly racist memes, but block me for 12 hours for telling some right winger to pull his head out of his ass.  It’s not as though your rules are completely arbitrary or anything, is it?  Or maybe it’s that you’re now just another reich wing site owned by a rich Republican asshole.

I don’t know and, what’s more, I don’t care.  This marks the beginning of my transition to Google Plus and the beginning of my war on Facebook.  It’s not as though I followed this asshole around and harassed him.  I just gave him my perfectly reasonable opinion, to which he could have responded using his own questionable language skills, or simply blocked me.  Instead, like the fucking coward he is, he reported me.  And then YOU responded by blocking me.  I don’t like being silenced, and I don’t appreciate your high-handed bullshit.  In 12 hours I will begin by informing my fans and followers that I’m starting the move to Google Plus.  Your treatment of your users has grown increasingly shitty and this was the motivation I needed to put you in my rearview mirror much as I did Myspace.  (Though for a different reason entirely).

Okay, to be fair I am often caustic.  But nothing I can say, up to and including “go fuck yourself,” can be nearly as offensive as some of the crap the Republicans say on a regular basis.  The ignorance that spews from their mouths and fingers should offend any thinking person.  I’ve said MUCH worse things than “pull your head out of your ass.”  The lying right wing trolls engage in libel 24/7 and you couldn’t give a rat’s ass.

Since I automatically share these through my FB, and that account is currently disabled for the crime of telling someone to get his head out of his ass (seriously?) I’m not going to post this until my account goes live so people know exactly what’s going on.

Here’s my Google Plus account.  All my friends from FB are more than welcome to add me there.  I really recommend making the leap yourselves.  You know you will in time anyway, given that Facebook is using the money they make by selling your personal information to corporations to do things like fund pro-Keystone ads.  They now make you pay to reach out to your friends and followers.  It’s only a matter of time before Facebook goes the way Myspace did.

And, as I did with Facebook, I’m heading out before the fall.  Why?  Because clearly I don’t like what they’re doing or how they’re doing it.  I’m not going to give them money just so people who friend or follow me can actually see what I post.

The funny thing is that being restricted from reading is what turned me into a writer.  Being restricted from Facebook sent me to Google Plus.  I’m rather big on quick left turns when necessary.  “Oh, you don’t want me to read?  Fine.  I’ll write.”  “Oh, you don’t like what I post here?  Okay.  I’ll go post somewhere else.”  And not Twitter, because Twitter just isn’t set up to deal with anything more complicated than what you ate for lunch–or, apparently, for celebrities to snark at each other.  Yay.  Sign me up.

I’m also not going to deal with a “social networking” site that penalizes people for actually trying to network.  Why the hell should I?  Why should anyone?  C’mon, folks, Facebook is busy sawing away at the links holding people to the site.  One by one those links are going to come free.

It might take me a while to bring people over, but I’m on a mission now.  And the people who know me best understands what that means.  If you already follow and/or friend me here, why not try out Google+?  What have you got to lose other than the constant aggravation of knowing that Zuckerberg is playing you for a Suckerberg?

C’mon in, the water’s fine.  

http://tinyurl.com/saje3d

On a final note?  Zuck you, Fuckerberg.

